A new anti-roll bar.

In preparation for the TDC Ireland 2011 Trail I noticed the front anti-roll bar was broken. The broken bar was a bar I had made from another cars anti-roll bar (ARB), I simply machined a hex onto the ends to allow the Rover to grip the bar as per the P6’s standard ARB. However when I machined the bar I had put a sharp corner from the transition from the hex to original large diameter, this is a no no for a component subjected to high strains, as the part will soon fail due to fatigue concentration.

Machining the ARB

Machining the ARB


So I pulled out the ‘spare’ original ARB and machined a hex with a good radius leading into the hex. You can clearly see the large nut bored to hold the ARB as a jig for to allow the hex to be formed.
Mounting cup on ARB

Mounting cup on ARB

This entry was posted in Handling and Driving, The Build. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment